Lenovo Yoga 530 | Flex 14 2-in-1 review | Is this the perfect budget student laptop?

The Lenovo Yoga 530 or Flex 14 in the US is a 2 in 1 laptop spilling with features starting at around £400 or $400. There are a number of models in the range, but I’m looking at the entry level configuration with a Pentium Gold processor and a standard, 1366×768 so-called HD screen, rather than the Full HD screen of its more expensive counterparts.

Even this base model has a 14” touch screen display, 128GB SSD storage, 4GB of RAM, a 360 degree hinge that provides no less than four usage scenarios, fast charging, a full sized HDMI port, three USB 3 ports including one modern type C port, a HD webcam and up to 10 hours of battery life. It sounds like it could be the perfect everyday laptop and together with its support for the optional Lenovo Active pen, this could also be an ideal student laptop.

If you want to skip forward or back at any time in this video, please check the timestamps down below in the pinned comment.
——–
Amazon link Yoga 530: http://geni.us/Tqbq
Amazon link Flex 14: http://geni.us/EDhL
Written article: http://thetechnologyman.com
——–
You can find most of the recent tech I’ve reviewed recently all in one place on my Amazon page. I also have a list some of my recommended tech and my current camera equipment for filming:
UK: http://amazon.co.uk/shop/thetechnologyman
US: http://amazon.com/shop/thetechnologyman
——–
#lenovo #yoga #flex
——–
Timestamps
0:00 Intro*
0:50 Overview*, inside box
1:00 Ports
1:43 Design and build
2:13 First power on, finish install
2:30 Bezel, webcam, keyboard, trackpad, 360 degree hinge
3:00 4 usage modes (laptop, theatre, tablet and tent)
4:23 Display & performance*, display, viewing angles
4:40 Measured display brightness
4:55 Screen calibration, accuracy (Delta E), sRGB colour space, uniformity
5:44 Battery life, charger and charging
6:15 Spec and performance
6:40 Adjusting laptop performance settings
6:45 SSD benchmark, boot time
7:13 Geekbench 4 CPU benchmark
7:31 Geekbench 4 Compute graphics test
7:40 Fan noise
7:45 Gaming, Fortnite
8:00 Upgrading RAM, SSD and changing battery discussion
8:15 Mic, speaker test
9:00 Connectivity (WiFi, Bluetooth)
9:20 Conclusions*
*sections
——–
Manuals:
User manual: https://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles_pub/yoga530-14ikb_yoga530-14arr_hmm_201803.pdf
Hardware manual: https://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles_pub/yoga530-14ikb_yoga530-14arr_ug_en_201803.pdf
——–
Background music:
Adventures by A Himitsu https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgFwu-j5-xNJml2FtTrrB3A Creative Commons — Attribution 3.0 Unported— CC BY 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ Music released by Argofox https://youtu.be/8BXNwnxaVQE Music provided by Audio Library https://youtu.be/MkNeIUgNPQ8

Speaker test:
Track: Cartoon – On & On (feat. Daniel Levi) [NCS Release]
Music provided by NoCopyrightSounds.
Watch: https://youtu.be/K4DyBUG242c
Free Download / Stream: http://ncs.io/onandon

50 Comments

  1. What's More! on February 29, 2020 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for This video bcz only one YouTuber(you) include all the things at 1s✓✓✓✓✓✓….
    but,
    Plz…Plz….Plz🙏🙏🙏
    ✓✓ need quick video for another Student Laptop…. HP ENVY 15T i5 8265U 8th generation…with 8gb RAM/ 256 GB SSD ….
    This also could be best laptop for Students….as HP also popular about it’s reliability ✋✋✋



  2. Bix Bixu on February 29, 2020 at 9:03 pm

    Great review!! But i have a question, it’s okay for illustrator and photoshop?



  3. krzblogg on February 29, 2020 at 9:04 pm

    Nice video!



  4. alliex. on February 29, 2020 at 9:04 pm

    Please sir review the ACER Aspire SWIFT 3 SF314-56-543s I really need to know all its performance before i buy it. I already watched almost reviews available here on yt but still, I’m not yet satisfied to some. I know you could make a great review for this and I hope you’d like to try. Btw, I’m a student sir and I’m finding a good laptop that cost atleast $770 that can carry to edit videos and photos. If you have some brand of laptops and its unit to recommend please tell me. I would love to check it. Thank you!



  5. peacepalestinesyria on February 29, 2020 at 9:05 pm

    thanks for the information. I just bought this computer (will arrive shortly) but with 8 GB, stylus included and with Ryzen processor. Your review will help me learn how to get through the settings!



  6. Warren McClure on February 29, 2020 at 9:07 pm

    I have a laptop very similar to this one. Its the Lenovo yoga 720 13 inch with the 8th gen Intel core i5 CPU, 8GB ram and a 256GB SSD. Very happy with it, it cost me about $850.00 last year



  7. Rushil N on February 29, 2020 at 9:07 pm

    It’s the best review of the Flex 14 I’ve seen. My only suggestion is that if you’re going to compare 2 laptops (like your MacBook here), have the figures displayed on the screen side by side.



  8. James Sounder on February 29, 2020 at 9:08 pm

    What’s the difference between Lenovo yoga 530 and 730?



  9. Gautam Jha on February 29, 2020 at 9:08 pm

    Great Review!!



  10. K Nakajima on February 29, 2020 at 9:09 pm

    Veeeery thorough i want this hardware more, thank you



  11. Mohamed Faried on February 29, 2020 at 9:10 pm

    Maybe the best objective review I have seen while I am searching for my new laptop. Big like and subscribe.



  12. Manish Maurya on February 29, 2020 at 9:10 pm

    lenovo yoga 530 or c340 help me decide plz
    one more option that i have is hp pavillion x360



  13. Angus tbm on February 29, 2020 at 9:11 pm

    Wonderful review, thanks ! 👍
    Greetings from UK 🇬🇧



  14. Harry Todhunter on February 29, 2020 at 9:16 pm

    Can this run Photoshop and illustrator?



  15. Anusha Verma on February 29, 2020 at 9:19 pm

    How about the pen?



  16. Detti on February 29, 2020 at 9:24 pm

    Hi! I loved the video, but still i would like to ask your opinion. I am looking at a version of this with intel core i5, 8gb ram and nvidia GeForce mx130 graphic card in it. i was looking for a 2in1 specifically because i want to use it for digital art and photo editing too besides university and work. Do you think this is a good model for that?



  17. Pyaa on February 29, 2020 at 9:26 pm

    Thank you so much for this video !!
    Being a student, I definitely considering getting this computer but I’m hesitant wether the 2-in-1 would be very usefull (I would like to use the stylus to take notes but I thought it was coming with the computer :/)
    Is there any computer in this price range you think would be great for students ?



  18. raja hassan ali bhatti on February 29, 2020 at 9:26 pm

    Am using it since last 11 months



  19. Nazi Reichtangle on February 29, 2020 at 9:26 pm

    Nice video but i have a question.
    Did you get a Lenova Active Pen?
    When i buy it and i open the package i dind’t get a pen.
    In the package was only the laptop,the battery charger and the papers with the instructions.



  20. MrBoonkaay on February 29, 2020 at 9:31 pm

    I’m a 3rd year mechanical engineering student, and I need a new laptop for my final year project. Do you think this will be able to cope with my demands? In terms of coursework and several app downloads for engineers like Ansys workbench or fusion 360?



  21. Jickob Lim on February 29, 2020 at 9:31 pm

    Does autocad, sketch up and other design software run well with this?



  22. i like turtles on February 29, 2020 at 9:31 pm

    Is it just me or this guy sounds like the "steel’s heavier than feathers" guy, no offense though i thought it’s pretty funny
    Good video anyways, this review did a great job



  23. Mauro Moreira on February 29, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    Great video first of all
    What’s your opinion on Huawei matebook D 15’6 i3 processor?



  24. Madfrazzer on February 29, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    OH NOOOO WIN 8 I’M GONNQ HAVE NIGHTMARES



  25. Godtastic Gaming MOBILE on February 29, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    I’m watching this with the Lenovo 530 lol



  26. Lyn Enriquez on February 29, 2020 at 9:33 pm

    I found this lenovo yoga 530 with i7 processor, 256 GB SSD and 16 GB RAM. Would that be good enough for programming? I’m gonna use mostly Visual Studio.



  27. anton walter on February 29, 2020 at 9:34 pm

    Please do the hp pavillion x360 with the i5 – 8250u prozessor



  28. Nazir El-halabi on February 29, 2020 at 9:37 pm

    I just got this laptop today, i don’t know if it is just me or others feel that the screen isn’t bright enough even when it’s on maximum, on top of that i feel like all the colors are very muted for some reason. Is it any fix for this issue or is it the way this screen is?



  29. Oxana Alexandrova on February 29, 2020 at 9:37 pm

    Please comment on battery life if yoga 530, i7, 14" and contrast difficulty



  30. Mad Engineer on February 29, 2020 at 9:38 pm

    I’m using it since last 1yr. This is worst quality laptop I’ve ever used. Don’t buy any laptop from lenovo go for hp…..✌️✌️✌️



  31. Krischaan D. on February 29, 2020 at 9:40 pm

    Thanks, that was really helpful on my final decision! I really liked the structure and cohesion of your video :). While I know that speaking fast is kind of needed to keep video length down to average attention spans, it can be hard at some point to follow ( especially if English is not your first language). Slowing down the video speed via the yt settings is a quick fix though 🙂



  32. Rose mou on February 29, 2020 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks for our video 🙂 Can u suggest a laptop within $600? Can i increase ssd and ram of this laptop?



  33. Tiina H on February 29, 2020 at 9:46 pm

    Thank you for making this video! It was really useful for a student, who doesn’t know enough about computers 🤓



  34. Rowan Myall on February 29, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    Really, really helpful. Thanks!



  35. Addaiya Chanderki on February 29, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    I bought this in UAE 16 GB RAM .. i7 8th gen 512 ssd it also has finger print it’s amazing so far



  36. Stuart Holden on February 29, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    Thanks for the review. Very helpful. The technical specs on Lenovo UK site don’t explicitly call out the touch screen and stylus compatibility with the base model. I can see your review model has touch screen, is this the Pentium Gold base model? Many thanks



  37. Razern00ben on February 29, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    Hello Gidon. I’m considering to buy the Lenovo Yoga 530 (81EK00YQMX), a bit better than this version. Do you think it will be okay for everyday use? I’m just a bit afraid it will be kind of slow or get slower with time. I hope to get an answer from you, great video btw! You got a new subscriber 🙂



  38. oneworldperson on February 29, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    Hi Gidon,
    Thanks for the informative video! I have the Lenovo Yoga 530 14l 81EK model. Have you heard about problems with the screen cracking? My screen cracked after 8 months, despite only being used normally, and it wasn’t dropped. Have others experienced this? And if so where did you get it fixed? I live in Denmark



  39. Lorenzo Molisso on February 29, 2020 at 9:53 pm

    Hi Gidon, I’m considering to buy this device with Ryzen 3 processor for 500 euros. What do you think? Is it a good solution or I had better add 100ish euros and get the one with i5? Consider l’m searching for something for a simple usage: Microsoft office and web surfing.



  40. CaseyJBrown on February 29, 2020 at 9:53 pm

    Do you think it will handle adobe illustrator and Photoshop, plus all the storage needed to save?



  41. 호주 아줌마의 PhD Life on February 29, 2020 at 9:54 pm

    Thank you for the video



  42. Hello Cadence on February 29, 2020 at 9:54 pm

    I’m thinking of getting the i5, 8gb ram and 128gb of ssd storage. Do you think it would be fine for casual games like Minecraft?



  43. Desi Parker on February 29, 2020 at 9:55 pm

    I’m looking at purchasing this laptop, are you able to advise if it has the capacity if I were to download CAD or REVIT program??



  44. Soun Doku on February 29, 2020 at 9:57 pm

    Thank you so much, your an absolute life saver! I just love how you go through all aspects of the laptop and then recommend what it would be most useful for. You have helped me make my decision to buy this laptop… THANK YOU



  45. nikhar patel on February 29, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    You are seriously underated man you deserve better god bless you



  46. CHRISTOPHER ANDERSON GRAY on February 29, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    I have a Yoga 520 with FHD 1920×1080 IPS Touchscreen, 2x Hard drives – 128GB SSD and 500GB 7200 RPM HDD and 8GB Ram with a 2.40GHz i3 and it amazing – I can only imagine what it would be like with an i7. Great laptops for anyone!



  47. IK3 Z on February 29, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    I have this laptop. I’m going to start using it for digital note taking with the pen! should I buy a screen protector? I don’t want to scratch the screen



  48. Silver_Dragon 54 on February 29, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    Do you know what ram is compatible? Thinking of going for i3 with 4gb of base ram but upgrading the ram to 8gb.



  49. naze00011 on February 29, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    I do want to ask a question my son is in 11th grade and taking his 2nd yrs in graphic design and computer graphics. Is this an ideal laptop for the price? And will have the power, speed and ram for this class?



  50. DH DEUS on February 29, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    Thanks for this video!