An interview with yogi uncover the actual facet of yoga. The two basic types of yoga are “Asthanga Yoga and Iyengar Yogic practices”. Vinyasa yoga in Goa, focuses on the eight limbs of “Ashtanga yoga” and it also teaches us how to learn the yoga postures correctly. 

Interview of a Yogi on Fundamentals of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga

An interview with a Yogi reveals the honest and real facets of yoga. This one on one is an insight into the famed yogic practices and postures known as “Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga”, and is famous as Ashtanga yoga in India.

Can we classify or differentiate yoga?

Yes, we can. There are different types of yoga, yogic practices, and branch. However, all yogic practices lead to a common goal of achieving harmony of “body, mind, and soul”. The ultimate purpose of every branch or type of yoga is attainment of supreme consciousness.

The two primary types or form of yoga are “Ashtanga Yoga and Iyengar Yogic practices”. There are also 6 other branches or types of yoga, which are significant in their own practices.

Explain the meaning and conceptualization of Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga is derived from two words “Ashta and Anga”. These two words finds its origin in “Sanskrit” one of world’s oldest language, in which all secret sciences, mythology and epics of Hinduism is written by sages many thousand years ago.

In English “Ashta” means eight and “Anga” means limb. Thus, Ashtanga together resembles in English ~ eight limbs path. Therefore, “Ashtanga Yoga” is concept is about the eight limbs fundamentals based on yoga philosophy of Patanjali.  

Ashtanga yoga teacher training in India is based on many Vinyasas, and is helpful in developing core strength of body, toning of muscle, potency of mind, and powerfulness of soul. It’s also one of the primary conceptualization of Ashtanga practices and as stated in Patanjali sutras.

Ashtanga Yoga was an ancient art of healing, science of holistic therapy, and practice of attaining supreme consciousness. It was forgotten long back, until its sudden emergence during 20th century “world health and good lifestyle revolution” especially in West.

Its conceptualization in contemporary world is based on “eight limbs path, physical yoga postures, asanas, breathe control, and recommended diet patterns”.

Can you give us a crisp insight into history or Background of Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga Yoga is an inseparable part of Yoga and its practices. Yoga dates back to 5000 years B.C. and is explained in “Vedic Philosophy & Tantra”. Thus, Ashtanga Yogic practices find its root in 5000 years old book of “Patanjali Yoga Sutra” compiled by great sages of that era.

In Vedic Philosophy “Lord Shiva” is revered as the first yogi, and Saptharishis are considered to be the first batch of students, who learnt it from the lord itself. So, its background goes back to the early times of human evolution and in its sutra where the eight limbs paths are defined.

What are the eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga?

Vinyasa yoga in Goa, focuses on the eight limbs of “Ashtanga Yoga retreats in India” mainly, and also teaches how to practice the yoga postures correctly. They introduce a fine balance between :Ashtanga and Iyengar” yoga practices.

Eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga:

1.Yama – It explains the principles of moral code of conduct

2.Niyama – It talks about the personal disciplines 

3.Asana – It focuses on yogic positions and yogic practices  

4.Pranayama – It concentrates on controlling of breathe 

5.Pratyahara – Its ultimate focus is to transcend to withdrawal of senses  

6.Dharana – It’s mainly about concentration on object  

7.Dhyana – It ultimately let us concerns with meditation  

8.Samadhi – It encourages us to move forth towards salvation

These, eight limbs are soul of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga. No, yogic practices can be complete or fulfilled without touching these eight limbs fundamentals.

Amazing, insight provided by the yogiHealth Fitness Articles, made us believe on the goodness and blessings of the ancient art form known as yoga.